Nous utilisons des cookies pour vous proposer des contenus et services adaptés. En poursuivant votre navigation sur ce site, vous acceptez l'utilisation de cookies.
Ce site respecte la loi RGPD du 25 mai 2018. Pour en savoir plus, cliquez ici

The Sellout
Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2016

The Sellout 


Editeur : ONEWORLD


Langue étudiée : Anglais

Langue maternelle : Anglais


Année : 06/2017
‘Outrageous, hilarious and profound.’ Simon Schama, Financial Times
‘The longer you stare at Beatty’s pages, the smarter you’ll get.’ Guardian
‘The most badass first 100 pages of an American novel I’ve read.’ New York Times

A biting satire about a young man's isolated upbringing and the race trial that sends him to the Supreme Court, The Sellout showcases a comic genius at the top of his game.

Born in Dickens on the southern outskirts of Los Angeles, the narrator of The Sellout spent his childhood as the subject in his father's racially charged psychological studies. He is told that his father’s work will lead to a memoir that will solve their financial woes. But when his father is killed in a drive-by shooting, he discovers there never was a memoir. All that’s left is a bill for a drive-through funeral.

What’s more, Dickens has literally been wiped off the map to save California from further embarrassment. Fuelled by despair, the narrator sets out to right this wrong with the most outrageous action conceivable: reinstating slavery and segregating the local high school, which lands him in the Supreme Court.

In his trademark absurdist style, which has the uncanny ability to make readers want to both laugh and cry, The Sellout is an outrageous and outrageously entertaining indictment of our time.



Reliure : Broché
Nbr de pages : 304
Dimension : 12.8 x 19.2 cm
Poids : 288 gr
ISBN 10 : 1786071460
ISBN 13 : 9781786071460
11,50 €
En stock , expédition demain (en savoir plus)
Réservation pour achat ou consultation en librairie (en savoir plus)
1 ex. en librairie à Tours au prix de 10,93 € (-5%)
Avis clients sur The Sellout - oneworld -
(Tous les avis sont modérés par nos soins et rédigés par des clients ayant acheté l'ouvrage)
Donnez votre avis

Paperback edition of the Man Booker Prizewinning novel, for fans of Kurt Vonnegut and Joseph Heller. Born in Dickens in theoutskirts of LA, the narrator spends hischildhood as the subject in his father'sracially charged psychological studies. But after his father dies, all he's left with is the bill for the funeral, and the news that Dickens has been wiped off the map. He sets out to right this wrong with the mostoutrageous action conceivable: by reinstatingslavery and segregation. *Also appeared in May Buyer's Notes*

Winner of The National Book Critics Circle Award